Provinces of The Republic of Indonesia


just a piece of my beautiful Indonesia
My beautiful Indonesia  © 2007 arie saksono

The archipelago

The political transformation of the Indonesian political system since the downfall of former President Soeharto in May 1998 included the radical overhaul of the role of the regions and the re-definition of the relationship between the centre (national government), and the governmental bodies at provincial and local level. While Indonesian political rhetoric had always supported the right of the regions for otonomi daerah (regional autonomy), the passing of Law No. 22/1999 on Regional Governance, and Law No. 25/1999 on Fiscal Balance Between the Centre and the Regions transformed the concept of decentralization and regional autonomy into reality.

There are 370 municipalities (Kabupaten) and 95 cities (Kota) administration in 33 provinces of Republic of Indonesia. The special territories (daerah istimewa) are Aceh (or Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam) and Yogyakarta. Special territories have more autonomy from the central government than other territories, and as a result they have unique legislative privileges: the Acehnese government has the right to create an independent legal system and instituted a form of sharia (Islamic Law) in 2003; Yogyakarta remains a sultanate whose sultan (currently the wildly popular Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono X) is the territory’s de facto governor.

The capital city territory is Jakarta. Though Jakarta is a single city, it is administered much as any other Indonesian province. For example, Jakarta has a governor (instead of a mayor), and is divided into several sub-regions with their own administrative systems.

Provinces Indonesia

Sumatra (Sumatera) 10 Provinces

  • Provinsi Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam *
  • Provinsi Sumatera Utara
  • Provinsi Sumatera Barat
  • Provinsi Riau
  • Provinsi Kepulauan Riau
  • Provinsi Sumatera Selatan
  • Provinsi Bengkulu
  • Provinsi Jambi
  • Provinsi Lampung
  • Provinsi Bangka Belitung

Java (Jawa) 6 Provinces

  • Provinsi DKI Jakarta *
  • Provinsi Jawa Barat
  • Provinsi Jawa Tengah
  • Provinsi DI Jogjakarta *
  • Provinsi Jawa Timur
  • Provinsi Banten

Bali & Nusa Tenggara (Lesser Sunda Islands) 3 Provinces

  • Provinsi Bali
  • Provinsi Nusa Tenggara Barat
  • Provinsi Nusa Tenggara Timur

Kalimantan (Borneo) 4 Provinces>

  • Provinsi Kalimantan Barat
  • Provinsi Kalimantan Selatan
  • Provinsi Kalimantan Tengah
  • Provinsi Kalimantan Timur

Sulawesi (Celebes) 6 Provinces

  • Provinsi Sulawesi Utara
  • Provinsi Sulawesi Tengah
  • Provinsi Sulawesi Tenggara
  • Provinsi Sulawesi Selatan
  • Provinsi Gorontalo
  • Provinsi Sulawesi Barat

Maluku Islands (Moluccas) 2 Provinces

  • Provinsi Maluku
  • Provinsi Maluku Utara

Papua (Irian Jaya) 2 Provinces

  • Provinsi Papua *
  • Provinsi Irian Jaya Barat

*Four of of Indonesia’s 33 provinces have special status : Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam (formerly Daerah Istimewa Aceh), Yogyakarta Special Region (Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta), Papua (formerly Irian Jaya) , and Jakarta Special Capital Region.

Source: & others sources


4 Responses to Provinces of The Republic of Indonesia

  1. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog
    and I’m inspired! Very useful info particularly the remaining part 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I used to be seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. DCHighway says:

    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet visitors, its
    really really fastidious piece of writing on building up new weblog.

  3. says:

    This piece of writing ill assist thhe internet viewers for building up new web site or
    even a weblog from start to end.

  4. Clayton says:

    I used to be suggested this website bby way of my cousin.
    I’m now not certain whether this put up is written by wayy of
    him as nobody else realize such special approximately my difficulty.
    You’re amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: